Silver Creek backroads shoot   Leave a comment

Ever since I got my new 0.49x fisheye filter from my dad for Christmas, I’ve been dying to give it a shot. I met up with Tahsin, Daniel and Hocken over near Silver Creek Valley since Tahsin said he knew some places to shoot. Of course it started to rain as soon as we met up, but regardless I wanted to try and get in some shutter time. There’s a dead end road that kind of reminds me of how highway 9 was before they repaved it, rocky grey with some nice flat out curves, especially just before the end.

The first few shots I took were all in JPEG, so I decided not to edit them. The only problem was after switching to RAW it was still raining and I forgot to reset my ISO to 400 for a few more shots.

First time using the fish eye, and the vignetting and edge blur weren’t really as bad as I had anticipated. If I had bothered to remember my tripod I’m sure I could’ve gotten some better photos.

I think if I go back up there again I’m going to move back towards that bend and take some different angles. As it was I didn’t feel safe being that close to a corner in case someone came whipping around.

Of course Hocken’s car came over all Prelude-ish and decided it didn’t want both of the fogs to work, but he tried doing a spot fix to no avail. After giving his car another “poor man car wash”, and waiting for the rain to let up, Daniel busted out his camera (which I’m jealous of) and started snapping away too.

Wide angle + wet primerludes = not too shabby photo.

All the sudden I’m hearing “Hey, fat boy! Move out da way!” being yelled from behind me, so I turn around and see this jackass.

No wide angle filter on this one, I was alternating between it and just the regular 18-55 throughout the shoot. I didn’t put the polarizer on though because it causes the wide angle to seem further out, so more of the picture is cropped by it. Doesn’t matter though, I’m happy with how these were turning out.

Run, soda seksi asian boi, run! Ugh, maybe more to sexy with that face.

Daniel wanted me to “work my magic” and make his car look like the clear coat isn’t chipped to hell and filthy. I think I succeeded for the most part.


WSC, represent. I hope one of us can get our act together and draft up a new logo since this one is a bit outdated.

I lost my creative flow with that set up and wandered back down to where we parked to shoot Tahsin’s car some more while the ludes restaged.



I never did like how crammed the 8th gen Civic engine bays are, but I guess when you start taking parts out like the stock intake it looks a bit more empty. It doesn’t match anything else on the car, but I’m digging the hyphy orange valve cover.


Shots like this make me miss having my Prelude. Especially since it was always the lowest of the group. Eventually I’d like to pick up another one and build it to be a cruiser, no need to try and make it super fast since that can’t really be done and keep it street legal.




Apparently the spot is a hang out for underaged drinking and whatnot. Kids do so well with following posted signs.

Yea yea yea, keep flaunting the better camera. You ass.

Figured I ought to take a picture of the workhorse. She’s filthy and bone stock, but still serving me more reliably than any other car I’ve had.

The wide angle filter is two pieces, the base of which is a macro lens. I got another set of dedicated macro lenses (1, 2, 4 & 10x) from my dad, but I’ll have to wait til another time to test those out.

Facebook album here

Posted 01/12/2011 by gordonronco in Photoshoots

Leave a comment